Mon-Thurs 9:30am - 9pm
Fri-Sat 9:30am - 5pm
Closed Saturdays
July through Labor Day

Find It
Look for books, DVDs, CDs...
My Account
Renew books, check due dates, check holds...
 
104 Main Street - Cheshire, CT 06410-2406 - Tel: 203-272-2245 - Fax: 203-272-7714
Find A
Good Book
Research
Your Topic
Calendar
of Events
Just for
Kids
Just for
Teens
Using the
Library
About the
Library
List of Databases
ReQuest: CT's Statewide Catalog
Community Links
Jobs On the Web
CPL Home

the web
cheshirelibrary.org
Google

Catalog
Renew, reserve, search for books, dvds, cds, etc.

email us
cheshire@cheshirelibrary.org
for shorter questions about how the library works, policies, etc.

ref@cheshirelibrary.org
for longer questions or help with research

Databases - full-text, searchable collections of magazine, newspaper, journal articles and more, that are not available on the free web.

DATABASES AVAILABLE FROM HOME OR THE LIBRARY

 

Historic Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2006)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers™-the definitive digital archive-offers full-text

and full-image articles of the New York Times dating back to 1851. 

 


iCONN, the Connecticut Digital Library, offers access to full-text articles from

magazines, journals, newswire services, newspapers, the Associated Press

Archive of Photographs, and much more. 

reQuest searches over 400 Connecticut library catalogs. The interface allows you

to search both iCONN and reQuest at the same time to find the same topic in many resources.

 

Cheshire-area Newspaper Archives
The Newsbank database provides full-text articles from the electronic editions in one

easy-to-search database, offering access to coverage of local and regional news.
Meriden Record-Journal 12/7/1997 - current
New Haven Register 1/1/1988 - current (11/23/2003-12/2/2004 unavailable)



ReferenceUSA Business
A directory of over 12 million businesses that can be sorted by type, size and geography.

Find businesses based on employee size, sales volume, type of business, and location.

Find news articles, company descriptions, and executive biographies.

ReferenceUSA Residential White Pages
Use this database of 135 Million U.S. Households to conduct market research,

and locate friends and relatives. Search by name, address, median home value,

median home income, and more.

 

 


Accessed through iCONN, the Connecticut Digital Library, Heritage Quest offers over 22,000 titles of local and family history books, and an index of over 2 million articles on genealogy and local history. Search the complete set of U.S. Federal Census images from 1790 to 1930. Search Revolutionary War records and the Freedman's Bank records. 

 

 


NoveList will help fiction readers find authors, titles, award winners, and author

biographies for over 73,000 titles.

 

DATABASES AVAILABLE ONLY IN THE LIBRARY


AncestryLibrary provides access to more than one billion names,

3,000+ databases, federal, state and city censuses, and primary-source

documents for the genealogy researcher.

New England Historic Genealogical Society - Over 90 million names in 2,000 databases, covering New England and regions of New York and Eastern Canada.


updated January 20, 2010

 

 



Home | Books and Reading | Research | Events | Kids | Teens | Using the Library | About the Library
The Cheshire Public Library - 104 Main Street - Cheshire, CT 06410-2406 - Tel: 203-272-2245 - Fax: 203-272-7714

about this website